Posted on

66: PEOPLE WHO WALK INTO LIFTS AND RE-PRESS THE FLOOR BUTTON – EVEN THOUGH YOU’VE ALREADY DONE IT

Lifts.  They’re everywhere.  I have one in my apartment block.  I have one in my workplace.  Because of the sheer number of lifts in my life I am pretty sure I am au fait with how they work.  You pick the number of the floor that you want to go to, and you push the appropriate button – right?  In fact, more often than not the button will light up, confirming your selection.  Soon you will be taken to your desired destination.  Simple.

Why then do people come into the lift after you, and push THE SAME BUTTON like you’re a fucking moron who is incapable of working this fairly straight-forward contraption?  Why do they look at you, smile, and then do exactly what you did five seconds earlier?  Why?  Why do they not trust me?  Why do they think that my lift technique is somehow going to fail them? 

Oh I know why.  Because they’re fucking arseholes.  That’s why.

NB:  These people can also be found at traffic lights, re-pressing the pedestrian crossing button.  ARGGGHHH!

About Twenty8Later

A brand new podcast mocking news, sport & entertainment in handy 28-day chunks. Good times in a terrible, terrible world.

One response to “66: PEOPLE WHO WALK INTO LIFTS AND RE-PRESS THE FLOOR BUTTON – EVEN THOUGH YOU’VE ALREADY DONE IT

  1. Yes, yes, yes; I understand you completely! Indeed, this is one of life’s irritants. When it happens, I wonder that it is not my lack of technique that makes them re press the button, but rather their assessment of the size of my, button pushing tool, my finger. Perhaps they feel my finger is not big or firm enough to cause the lift (it’s called an elevator in the United States) to rise so they can get off – at the right floor. Hmm – that can’t be it. You are right; they are fucking arseholes (its assholes in the United States).

Leave a Reply

