Posted on

70: THE WAY WAITERS ALWAYS REFILL YOUR GLASS EVEN IF YOU’VE ONLY TAKEN A SIP, CREATING A NEVER-ENDING DRINK

I actually really like water.  It’s cold, it’s refreshing, it’s delicious.  When I go to a restaurant and I am asked if I would like some ‘water for the table’, I always say yes (although I’m not quite sure what a table would want with water, it’s hardly going to drink it).

But what I can’t abide is that, once you’ve filled your glass with water, the waiter keeps an eye on it, desperately trying to ensure that your glass always remains full.  Why is this?  Does something happen if I reach the bottom of my glass?  Does the glass self-destruct?  No.  The only reason they do this is so that you drink more water than you actually need, and therefore end up buying a second bottle.  i’m a glass half-empty guy, not a glass FULL.

I once played a game with a waiter who seemed obsessed with refilling my glass.  I sipped the first glass slowly, then once I had drunk half of it he came over and filled it to the brim.  Before he left I picked up the glass and necked the whole lot.  He didn’t know what to do.  He decided to repour.  I drank it down whole again.  This pattern continued for about 20 minutes, him refilling, me emptying..  It cost me fifteen quid in water but I thought i’d made my point – on reflection, I’m not sure I did…

About Twenty8Later

A brand new podcast mocking news, sport & entertainment in handy 28-day chunks. Good times in a terrible, terrible world.

Leave a Reply

